Note: Per C.G.S. 10 - 218, Board of Education meeting minutes are provided in a draft format within 48 hours of the date the meeting was held. With the exception of motions and votes recorded, these minutes are unofficial until they have been read and approved by a majority vote of the Board. Should edits be necessary, they will be made at the next regularly scheduled meeting, noted in the meeting minutes, and voted upon.

CHAPLIN, HAMPTON, SCOTLAND AND REGIONAL DISTRICT ELEVEN BOARD OF EDUCATION CHAPLIN, CONNECTICUT 06235

CHAPLIN, CONNECTICUT 0623: SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY JUNE 16, 2020 7:00 PM

Webex Meeting Meeting Number: 251 779 3871 Meeting Password: RD#11BOE

- 1. Call to Order Chairman Dennis LaBelle called the meeting to order at 7:05 pm. Present were board members Kate Donnelly, Sally Ireland, Kathy Freed, Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Cassidy Martin and Stacy Foster. Administrators present were Superintendent Ken Henrici and Principal Brian Tedeschi.
- 2. Communication with the Audience None
- **3.** Written Communications to the Board Chairman Dennis LaBelle read a letter from PHACT/PTSA requesting a curriculum review.
- 4. Recognition of Valedictorian, Salutatorian, Third, Fourth and Fifth Ranked Students of the Class of 2020 Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized the following students Gavin Horning-Kane Valedictorian, Benjamin Card Salutatorian, Maximilen Third ranked student, Ethan Dunn and Kellee Leone fourth ranked student, and Elizabeth Sweat fifth ranked student.
- 5. CABE Student-Leader Awards Jenna MacNaughton, Gabriel Victoria, Kellee Leone and Maximilen Blanchard Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Jenna MacNaughton, Gabriel Victoria, Kellee Leone and Maximilen Blanchard with CABE Student-Leader Award.
- **6.** CAS Scholar-Leader Awards Ryan Leone and Liam Quinn Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Ryan Leone and Liam Quinn with CAS Scholar-Leader Award.
- 7. CAS Fine Arts Awards Rebeca Burnham and Benjamin Card Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Rebecca Burnham and Benjamin Card with CAS Fine Arts Award.
- **8.** CAS/CIAC Scholar Athlete Awards Gavin Horning-Kane and Elizabeth Sweat Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Gavin Horning-Kane and Elizabeth Sweat with CAS/CIAC Scholar Athlete Award.
- **9. Persevering Pirate Student Award Samuel Grenon -** Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Samuel Grenon with Persevering Pirate Student Award.
- 10. 2020 Connecticut Jordan Porcu Foundation Champion Award Rajchel Smardon Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Rajchel Smardon with 2020 Connecticut Jordon Porcu Foundation Champion Award.
- 11. Parish Hill Girls' Basketball Award Brooke Benedict, Maggie Bolduc, Rajchel Smardon, Emma Anderson, Kaysie Dupuis, Sienna Ortiz, Alexandra Smardon, Kristie Zator, Kate Bazurto and Grace Quinn Coach Ted Decyk presented Brook Benedict, Maggie Bolduc, Rajchel Smardon, Emma Anderson, Kaysie Dupuis, Sienna Ortiz, Alexandra Smardon, Kristie Zator, Kate Bazurto and Grace Quinn with plaques recognizing them for advancing to the Division 5 Quarter finals.
- **12. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members -** Superintendent Ken Henrici recognized Tracey Dunn for her years of dedicated service on the board.
- 13. Approval of May 19, 2020 Minutes Cassidy Martin moved to approve the May 19, 2020 minutes. Michael Smardon seconded and the motion passed with the following vote: Yes: Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Stacy Foster, Dennis LaBelle, Kathy Freed, Cassidy Martin and Kate Donnelly Abstain: Sally Ireland
- 14. Approval of Financial Statement May 2020 Stacy Foster moved to approve the Financial Statement of May 2020. Kathy Freed seconded and the motion passed with the following vote: Yes: Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Stacy Foster, Dennis LaBelle, Kathy Freed, Cassidy Martin and Kate Donnelly Abstain: Sally Ireland

15. Administrative Reports/Administrative Requests for Board Action

- A. Principal Principal Brian Tedeschi spoke to the board on the 6-grade parent orientation, "Big Wave," last day of school, and recognized Sienna Ortiz for her award as Willimantic Chronicle Student athlete.
- **B.** Superintendent Superintendent Ken Henrici spoke to the board on CIAC Fall sports, upgrades to the school, CARES Act, and working with the PHACT/PTSA for curriculum review.

16. Old Business/New Business

- A. Report by PHACT/PTSA Lisa LaBelle spoke to the board about a grant application.
- B. Approval of July 2020 to June 2021 Board Meeting Schedule Stacy Foster moved to approve the following Board Meeting Schedule; July 7, 2020, August 25, 2020, September 15, 2020, October 20, 2020, November 17, 2020, December 15, 2020, January 19, 2021, February 16, 2021, March 16, 2021, April 6, 2021, May 18, 2021 and June 15, 2021. Michael Smardon seconded and the motion passed with the following vote:
- C. Discussion of 2020 Commencement Ceremony, Fall Re-Entry Plan and COVID-19 Plan Superintendent Ken Henrici spoke to the board about the 2020 Commencement Ceremony and the Fall Re-Entry Plan.
- D. Budget Forecast 19-20—Dave Solin Business Manager Dave Solin spoke to the board about a surplus for the 19-20 budget.
- E. Discussion and Possible Action on Vo-Ag Request Stacy Foster moved with regret to deny the request to attend Killingly Vo-ag. Sally Ireland seconded and the motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Stacy Foster, Dennis LaBelle, Kathy Freed, Cassidy Martin, Sally Ireland and Kate Donnelly.

17. Committee Reports/Requests for Board Action

- **A. Fiscal & Plant -** Dennis Labelle reported to the board on the last Fiscal & Plant committee meeting.
- **B.** Educational and Board Policies Kate Donnelly reported to the board on the last Educational and Board Polices committee meeting.
- C. Central Office Nothing new to report.
- **D. Technology** Nothing new to report.
- **E.** Personnel and Supervision Nothing new to report.
- **F.** Newsletter Nothing new to report.
- G. CABE/EASTCONN Chairman Dennis LaBelle spoke about CABE information. Kate Donnelly moved to add Executive Session for Eva award nomination as item 20. Stacy Foster seconded and the motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Stacy Foster, Dennis LaBelle, Kathy Freed, Cassidy Martin, Sally Ireland and Kate Donnelly.

- 18. Second Audience for Citizens Sherry Smardon thanked the Staff and Administration of Parish Hill.
- 19. Agenda Items for Next Meeting Budget Reporting, commencement ceremonies, and Fall re-entry
- 20. Executive Session for the Eva Award Nomination The board entered executive session at 8:55pm
- 21. Adjournment Kate Donnelly moved to adjourn at 9:00 pm. Stacy Foster seconded and the motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: Michael Smardon, Stephanie Harrington, Stacy Foster, Dennis LaBelle, Kathy Freed, Cassidy Martin, Sally Ireland and Kate Donnelly.