# CHAPLIN PUBLIC LIBRARY Board of Trustees Meeting Chaplin, Connecticut Regular Meeting Minutes June 17, 2024

Chairperson Leslie Ricklin called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM. Board members present were Jeanette Haines, Diane Sanchez and Alternate Diana Alvarez. Also present was Library Director Sandra Horning. Absent were Board members Bill Jenkins, Adele Swart and Victor Boomer.

Alternate Diana Alvarez seated for Board member Adele Swart.

3. AUDIENCE FOR CITIZENS: None

4. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

5. CORRESPONDENCE: None

Motion to approve the May 20, 2024 regular meeting minutes, made by Jeanette Haines, seconded by Diana Alvarez and carried unanimously.

#### 6. REPORTS:

A. Director's Report: Postponed until the next meeting

Board Chair's Report: No ReportBoard Members' Report: No Report

# 7. OLD BUSINESS/NEW BUSINESS:

## A. Speaker Programs:

Chinese Astrology program by Joe Landolphi (does Senior Center Tai Chi classes) on Aug. 19<sup>th</sup> at 6:30pm.

# **B.** Monthly Budget Update:

Salaries and heat overbudget, electricity underbudget by a few thousand (unused Special Revenue grant funds available to cover if needed).

# C. Friends of the Library Update:

Had visitor from Canterbury Friends with suggestions and discussion of 5013c (nonprofit status).

**D.** Landscaping: Jim Kelly was here and also mulched.

## E. Poet Laureate plan:

Adelaide Northrup will remain for another year. Will host a Poetry Event under the tent on August 23<sup>rd</sup> from 5-6:30pm with an open mic for area poets. The new Scotland Poet Laureate will also participate and reach out to the Parish Hill students she worked with (their poems are currently on display in the library).

#### 8. ITEMS FOR NEXT AGENDA:

- Chaplin Day Discussion (September 14)
- Book Challenge/Reconsideration Form Discussion (possible action about adding that only Chaplin residents may challenge a book).
- The next meeting is on July 15<sup>th</sup> at 6:30pm.

# 9. ADJOURN:

Motion to adjourn (7:15 PM) made by Jeanette Haines, seconded by Diana Alvarez and carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted by Kathleen Scott
Recording Clerk